Canadian Zack Meyer WINS KZ2

The final race of the championship was for the KZ2 and Formula Stock Moto shifter classes. The shifter classes have put on great races all year and this weekend was no exception. After taking second in the last three races, GP driver Zack Meyer promised he had something in store for Sunday’s races and he was right.

After taking the pole position in morning qualifying, Zach was on the pole for the KZ2 Pre-Final. With every lap of KZ2 competition being led by either Zack Meyer or Danny Formal, it was a bit of a surprise to see Matthew Di Leo get the holeshot to take the lead going into turn one of the Pre-Final.

Zack Meyer was the Sunday victor and overall KZ2 points champion
(Photo: Ken Johnson - FWT)

Di Leo’s lead wasn’t to last long as Meyer and Formal were on him like two pit bulls on a ham sandwich. Before long Zack Meyer had taken over the top spot. However, we’ve seen this scenario before. But, unlike the past few races where Meyer would get the lead only to have Formal run him down, this time Zack was pulling away and doing so with a smoothness in his driving we hadn’t seen since the opening rounds in Orlando. For his efforts, Zach took a well-earned Pre-Final win.

In the KZ2 Final, it was Danny Formal’s turn to get the lead at the start. This didn’t fit into Zack Meyer’s plan for the race and so on lap three, he took back the lead and started to pull away for another win. Behind Formal, Matthew Di Leo and Joshua Adams had a ferocious battle over third which ended up being second when Formal failed post race tech.

In the final point tally for the year, Zack Meyer stands above as the KZ2 points champion. Second place in the championship goes to Matthew Di Leo and third goes to James Dawson.

Powered By Command Centre CMS